Protection of Banks’ Consumers

Within the efforts aimed at strengthening the protection of banking sector clients by establishing a balanced relationship between banks and their customers, and guided by the relevant best international practices, and the principles of financial consumer protection approved by the finance ministers and central bank governors of the G20 countries in October 2011, the Central Bank of Kuwait issued a guide to protect banks’ clients in various sectors. This guide includes a set of principles that are considered complementary to, not alternative of, the various instructions previously issued by the Central Bank of Kuwait for protecting customers in their dealings with the banks.

 

 

The Consumers Protection Guide can be accessed through the following link:

 

 

Complaints Submission Mechanism:

If a customer (individual) has a complaint against the bank he/she deals with (or any other entity subject to the supervision of the Central Bank of Kuwait, e.g. exchange companies, investment companies, and financing companies), he/she should follow a well-defined mechanism/process to submit his/her complaint. Such process starts with communicating with the (bank) complainee to discuss and rectify the issue. In case the bank fails to respond to the customer’s complaint, the matter shall be escalated to, raised to the attention of, the Central Bank of Kuwait. The complaint is processed through the following stages:

 

The first phase:

The customer submits his/her complaint to the bank on the designated form, which should be is available in bank’s branches. The bank (complainee) should respond to the compliant in writing within 15 business days from its date. Such response should make clear whether the complaint has been processed and resolved accordingly, or the bank is satisfied of the procedures taken with respect to the subject of the complaint.

 

The second phase:

If the bank fails to respond to the complaint within 15 business days, or if the customer is not satisfied of the bank’s response, the customer may submit a grievance to the Central Bank of Kuwait accompanied with a copy of the bank’s response, the supporting documents. The Central Bank of Kuwait shall consider/verify the procedure taken to resolve the complaint.

Screen Shot 2021-01-06 at 12.43.58 PM.pn
Screen Shot 2021-01-06 at 12.44.09 PM.pn
Screen Shot 2021-01-06 at 12.44.12 PM.pn
logo.png
web-logo_tcm28-533.jpg
2880px-National_Bank_of_Kuwait_logo.svg.
Screen Shot 2020-11-27 at 3.23.51 PM.png
BoubyanBankLogo.jpg
CBK_LOGO.png
abk_logo.png
logo-2.png
logo-kib.jpg

حماية عملاء البنوك

في إطار الجهود الرامية إلى تعزيز حماية عملاء القطاع المصرفي من خلال إقامة علاقة متوازنة بين البنوك وعملائها، واسترشاداً بأفضل الممارسات العالمية في هذا المجال، وضمن إطار مبادئ حماية المستهلك المالي المعتمدة من وزراء مالية ومحافظي البنوك المركزية لدول مجموعة العشرين (G20) في شهر أكتوبر 2011، أصدر بنك الكويت المركزي دليلًا لحماية عملاء البنوك في مختلف القطاعات. ويتضمن هذا الدليل مجموعة من المبادئ التي تعتبر مكملة وليست بديلة لما أصدره بنك الكويت المركزي سابقاً من تعليمات مختلفة في مجال حماية العملاء عند تعاملهم مع البنك.

ويمكن الاطلاع على دليل حماية عملاء البنوك عبر الرابط التالي:

آلية تقديم الشكاوى:

يمكن للعميل (الفرد) في حال حدوث خطأ من جانب البنك الذي يتعامل معه (أو أي جهة خاضعة لرقابة بنك الكويت المركزي مثل شركات الصرافة، وشركات الاستثمار، وشركات التمويل) أن يتقدم بالشكوى عبر آلية محددة تبدأ من التواصل مع الجهة المشكو في حقها لتوضيح ما وقع للعميل ومعالجته، وصولاً إلى رفع الأمر إلى بنك الكويت المركزي في حال عدم استجابة البنك لشكوى العميل، وتتم معالجة الشكوى عبر المراحل التالية:

المرحلة الأولى:

يقدم العميل الشكوى إلى البنك على النموذج المخصص لذلك والمتوفر في جميع فروع ذلك البنك. عند استلام البنك للشكوى، يتوجب عليه أن يرد على العميل كتابةً خلال 15 يوم عمل من تاريخ تقديم الشكوى، وإيضاح إذا ما شمل الرد تصويب ومعالجة ما ورد بالشكوى أو اطمئنان البنك إلى سلامة الإجراء المتبع بشأن الواقعة محل الشكوى.

المرحلة الثانية:

في حال عدم رد البنك على الشكوى خلال 15 يوم عمل، أو إن لم يكن الرد مُرضيًا للعميل، فيمكنه التقدم بتظلم لدى بنك الكويت المركزي مرفقاً به نسخة من رد البنك المشكو في حقه، مع المستندات المتعلقة بالواقعة وسوف ينظر بنك الكويت المركزي في مدى سلامة الإجراءات المتخذة للتعامل مع هذه الشكوى.

Screen Shot 2021-01-04 at 1.50.17 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-01-04 at 1.50.27 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-01-04 at 1.50.29 PM.png
logo.png
web-logo_tcm28-533.jpg
2880px-National_Bank_of_Kuwait_logo.svg.
Screen Shot 2020-11-27 at 3.23.51 PM.png
BoubyanBankLogo.jpg
CBK_LOGO.png
abk_logo.png
logo-2.png
logo-kib.jpg